February 26, 2016
by Stacy Mitchell

Meet MyPlate

MyPlate is a fun and simple way to help people eat a variety of nutritious foods. Make a colorful plate to provide the best nutrition for your body!

Five colors represent each food group.

  1. Brown = Grains
    • Half of your grains should be whole grains, meaning the word “whole” is listed in front of the grain, such as whole wheat flour.
  2. Purple = Protein
    • Poultry, beef, seafood, beans and peas, eggs, processed soy products, nuts, and seeds are considered part of the Protein Foods Group.
  3. Green = Vegetable
    • Vegetables may be raw or cooked; fresh, frozen, canned, or dried/dehydrated; or 100% vegetable juice.
  4. Red = Fruit
    • Fruits may be fresh, canned, frozen, or dried, and may be whole, cut-up, pureed or 100% fruit juice.
  5. Blue = Dairy
    • In general, 1 cup of milk, yogurt, or soy milk, 1 ½ ounces of natural cheese, or 2 ounces of processed cheese can be considered as 1 cup from the Dairy Group.


How many colors are on your plate?